Week 2: MLH Prep Fellowship

All about React JS and APIs

ยท

2 min read

Week 2: MLH Prep Fellowship

At the start of the second week of the MLH Prep Fellowship, my pod and I were introduced to our project for weeks 2 and 3, a weather app built using ReactJS and powered by Open Weather APIs. During this week, my pod and I continued working on our weather app project. We used React JS for the app and we also utilized multiple APIs to fetch weather updates, location, and other related information. Additionally, me and my partner, Josh, incorporated a map using the Google Maps API that helped to pinpoint a user's location on the map based on the city name they entered, which relied on the geocoding API.

As the week progressed, our pod collaborated to brainstorm various ideas on how we could take the project to the next level. Eventually, we came up with the concept of turning the app into an end-to-end trip planner. Users will have the option to select their source and destination, as well as their preferred dates, and the application will provide them with recommendations for hotels and flights, potentially using another API. We also plan to help users plan their itinerary, make a budget, etc. making their trip-planning experience seamless and enjoyable.

The highlight of this week for me was giving my lightning talk on Merge Conflicts. I realized that preparing for the talk helped me to identify gaps in my understanding of the topic, which ultimately helped me to improve my knowledge. This reminds me of a quote from Prof. Richard Feynman

"If you want to master something, teach it"

In addition to my lightning talk, I had the opportunity to attend a talk by one of my pod mates, Ikeh, on Communication Protocols. It was a wonderful session and I learned a lot about how different devices communicate with each other using various protocols. Next week, Daniel will be giving a talk, and I'm looking forward to it. It's great to see everyone sharing their knowledge and expertise, and I'm grateful for this opportunity to learn from such a talented group of individuals.

As we move into the third week of the prep fellowship, I'm excited to see how our weather app project evolves into an end-to-end trip planner app. I'm looking forward to working with my pod mates to implement new features and make the app more complete.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Jay Gala by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย