Week 3: MLH Prep Fellowship

Week 3: MLH Prep Fellowship

ยท

3 min read

Final week, the graduation ceremony, and games!

So yes I am a little late for this I know. The prep fellowship ended on the 21st of April but I had my semester exams so I didn't get enough time. But we are here now...

The final week was great and I'm a little sad I had to manage exam prep + MLH work in the last three days of the program but not complaining. Let's get to it then!

Weather App

This whole week was mostly focused on us finishing our weather + travel app and I think we did some pretty cool work on that. Check it out here.

Mamtha and Priyanka made this wonderful design using Figma of what each screen in our app should look like.

I worked on the Trip Planner page which allowed the users to enter their trip details such as dates, destination, origin, etc. and they received corresponding flight and hotel details like prices. I used the Skyscanner API from RapidAPI and I was amazed to see how quick it was to set it up and get running.

Graduation Ceremony

This was the highlight of the week. We graduated on a live stream hosted by Will Russell on YouTube. What a fun guy!

So in the graduation ceremony, there were members from both, pod 1 (us) and pod 2 and Will streamed all the work done by these 2 pods in the 3 weeks of the fellowship.

The second pod did beat us fair and square in terms of commits and coordination but it felt great to see the way they'd built their projects.

Just after the graduation ceremony, we had our last pod meeting except it didn't even feel anything like it. Aksh had found this amazing game where we were divided into two teams and we had to guess a drawing made by one of our teammates. It was so funny because none of us were good at it. LoL!

What next?

Well, I have connected with everyone on LinkedIn so we'll stay in touch. Also, I am going back to studying ML and Deep Learning and am hoping to do one internship this year in those domains. I will also keep contributing to open-source projects and participating in programs such as this one.

Conclusion

In the end, I just know that I learned a lot during these three weeks and it was one of my most exciting experiences in tech so far. And if you want to read the entire prep fellowship journey experience, here are the week 1 and week 2 blogs (more exciting than this one I promise). Also, if you've been accepted into the prep or the full fellowship, don't let that go and make the most of it. One last photo from the final day. Bye!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Jay Gala by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย